Lois Elsden

I first read the story of Wuthering Heights in an adapted form when I was about nine and I was thrilled and horrified in equal measures! I couldn’t forget Lockwood’s dream of Cathy rapping at the window and  her hand coming through the glass. I was shocked at the image of Cathy’s coffin being opened on Heathcliff’s death so he could be buried and lie side by side for ever. It remains a favourite book, and I was so pleased when I reread it recently that it still excited and gripped me. Whenever I see wallflowers I think of the gillie flowers growing by the window at the end of the story. Since then I have read the book many times and it never fails to excite me!

This is another Brontë story I read when very young in an abbreviated version although I have read it often since in the original…

View original post 140 more words

Leave a Reply

