GOKOTTA

Hmm.. So I just had to get this post in and share my opinions before the day is over.

I remember loving Shel Silverstein as a kid so when his name popped up on my Tumblr dashboard, I thought I would re-read some of his stories and poems and bring back my childhood. The Giving Tree tells the story of a tree who unconditionally, selflessly, and continuously loves the young boy who used to come to her to play all the way until he’s old. What initially surprised me when I was looking for a pdf of the story were people’s negative comments about it, but after re-reading it, I understand where they’re coming from.. I’ve got mixed feelings about it to say the least.

Most people (myself included) interpret the story as an allegory for a parent-child relationship but where the negative comments arise is in the nature of it:…

View original post 278 more words

One thought on “Re-reading The Giving Tree: An Eye Opener

Leave a Reply

