Dante and Virgil

The Mitchell Gallery

Dialogues 8

“In the middle of the journey of our life, I came to myself in a dark wood, for the straight way was lost. Ah, how hard a thing it is to say what that wood was, so savage and harsh and strong that the thought of it renews my fear! It is so bitter that death is little more so! But to treat of the good that I found there, I will tell of the other things I saw. I cannot really say how I entered there, so full of sleep was I at the point when I abandoned the true way.” – Inferno, Commedia (Canto 1.1-12)

—–

Holly Huey – St. John’s College student

Photo credit: Jean-Baptiste-Camille Corot, Dante and Virgil (Dante et Virgile), 1858

View original post

Leave a Reply

