Reason & Existenz

Once I happened to visit a museum with a friend more versed in painting than I. His remarks, his very presence, keyed the sensibilities with which I was able to see. I saw more, and I saw in a different way. My capacity to perceive was deeply enlivened in proximity with a more experienced companion in whom I recognized something wholly different from a mere claim ‘to know about these things’, namely, a real affinity with the paintings we were regarding. Nor does this mean that on my part I simply identified myself with him. To shift the image once again, the accord which arose between us might be compared to that between musical instruments; and though I speak of instruments, it would be better to think of instrumentalists. The first violinist in a quartet is not wrapped up in himself as he plays. A kind of interior reference to…

View original post 92 more words

Leave a Reply

