Quote of the Week/ Nabokov

Redtree Times

Ralph Fasanella- Bread and Roses Ralph Fasanella- Bread and Roses

Artistic originality has only its own self to copy.

–Vladimir Nabokov

*******************

Earlier this week a friend sent me a link to a Paris Review interview with the late author Vladimir Nabokov, best known for his novel Lolita.  In response to a question that asked if he was conscious of being repetitive in his work as some critics had claimed, Nabokov said that derivative writers always seemed more versatile because they were free to imitate the writer of both the past and present.  But he added the words above– Artistic originality has only its own self to copy.

That really rang a bell with me.  I have sometimes had people with good intentions give me advice on how I could improve my work by taking on the characteristics of other painters.  I always listen and try to show my appreciation for their…

View original post 545 more words

Leave a Reply

