“Elegy Indigo”

Lavender Turquois

Trumpet with paper straight mute inserted; bel... Trumpet with paper straight mute inserted; below are (left to right) straight, wah-wah (Harmon), and cup mutes. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Jazz at the Plaza Jazz at the Plaza (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is a poem found in a journal of Jazz and Literature called “Brilliant Corners”. The author of the poem is Joel Dias-Porter I put in ( ) what scripture it suggested to me

“Did Miles mute his horn, because

a breeze can carry kites a gust might mutilate?”

(He did not even bend a reed)

Call him poet, professor. Call me shaky grasper of the chisel,

caught in a run-on rush to hammer it all.

(I ran a good race, to the end)

Finally, finally, I come to believe in loss as a way of knowing.

(I consider all loss as gain)

How long does it take to hear what silence can say?

(Be still and know)

I stand at a stoplight…

View original post 186 more words

Leave a Reply

