They Must have been Out-of-their-Minds with Excitment

OPreach

When I went to Musée d’Orsa in Paris I noticed this wonderful painting of the Apostles Peter and John running to the tomb after Mary Magdalene had brought them the news of the Risen Christ. Their body language and expressions show anticipation, joy, and wonder. John wears a please-let-it-be-true look on his face. I was so taken by the picture, I just had to snap my camera.

When I think about how the disciples must have felt during their rolller-coaster-of-a-ride from the days leading up to Jesus’ crucifixion to the days after his resurrection, I can’t help but imagine that their nerves must have felt raw from the excitement of it all. We read on Wednesday about Jesus’ visit with the disciples on the way to Emmaus, as it is described in Luke, chapter 24.

Once Jesus had revealed himself to them – and then vanished, “they said to each…

View original post 89 more words

Leave a Reply

